学生大使

星岛杂志详细报道了我们校园大使团队,详情请浏览特别报道

谢谢各位在2013到2014年参加了我们校园大使项目。我们招募了充满潜力,热情和冲劲的学生代表我们的校园大使。以下是首届加华干细胞协会的校园大使团队!

IMG_5040[1]


Andy Wang (队长之一;多伦多大学密西沙加校区:毕业生)

Andy Wang从2012年开始在加华干细胞协会展现他卓越的奉献精神和领导才能。 当遇到招募困难时候(当然克服!),因为他的执着和积极的态度,曾在我们2013年的志愿者答谢晚宴上被评为“最厚脸皮”奖。

因此,他也当仁不让地成为了我们新校园大使项目的队长之一!

“我很上进,也热爱此项目和帮助更多的人!”


Akshita Malik (队长之一;滑铁卢大学)

Akshita从志愿者开始一步一个脚印地成为加华干细胞协会的校园大使队长。作为志愿者的她,已帮助了加华干细胞协会无数个小时。她也刚刚完成了我们的暑期实习生计划。

但是,她不仅仅只在加华干细胞协会里工作。Akshita参加了数不清的活动,例如758 Argus Royal Canadian Air Cadet Squadron, DECA,和其他许多学术活动。她良好的领导才能,沟通能力和她的经验让我们不得不把新的项目交给她带领。


Annie Lee (女皇大学)

Annie在许多不同机构做志愿者(甚至成为一位大使),她带来了她的经验和她的热情。当她被问到参加大使的理由时,她的回答是:

“我和我的朋友将会在我们学校创办一个社团,为加华干细胞协会筹款和教育人们关于干细胞的急需现状与干细胞收集的方法。”

她是一名生物医学计算机专业的大学二年级学生。


Renee Xu (女皇大学)

2012年3月,Renee曾在我们密西沙加干细胞捐献者招募活动中做志愿者,所以她非常了解我们招募的步骤!另外,Renee也亲自成为了潜在干细胞捐赠者:

“我作为一位潜在干细胞捐赠者,我对许多华裔不接受干细胞捐赠和骨髓捐赠感到十分不理解,我想帮助加华干细胞协会引导这些潜在捐献者,改变他们对于捐献的看法,以此帮助他们克服心理障碍和误解,并且使别人的生活有所不同。”


Helen Ren (怀尔逊大学)

Helen是一位大学三年级学生,修读刑事司法专业。她尽她的能力参加加华干细胞协会的活动。 她已在暑期的两个活动中做志愿者,她分享道:

“在加华干细胞协会里做志愿者给了我目标,我想在社区和学校里帮助加华干细胞协会呼吁并提高人们的认知度,帮助加华干细胞协会达到其目标。”


Andrew Leung (多伦多大学士嘉堡校区:博士生)

Andrew是一名专业于环境科学的博士生。Andrew从加华干细胞协会的第一个活动就开始做志愿者,他对此事业充满了热情。如果你还要问Andrew参加此大使的理由,他会这样说道:

“我对此事业充满热情,我也非常了解招募工作的每一个细节。我十分清楚大学的学生结构和明白提倡此活动的需要。”


Caleb Siu (多伦多大学密西沙加校区)

Caleb是大学二年级传媒文化与信息技术的学生,他良好的职业道德和广泛的社交技巧能够帮助我们。除了他大量的志愿者经验和多样的荣誉,Caleb为我们的项目带来了高层次的经验。

以下是Caleb参加大使项目的原因:

“我会向人们呼吁干细胞捐献的重要性,尤其是在加拿大华裔社区里。”


Gloria Tiange Li (多伦多大学主校区–圣佐治校区)

Gloria是多伦多大学公共会计的二年级学生,她是从学校里的招聘中心了解到校园大使的项目。从未在加华干细胞协会做过志愿者的她决定一步一步踏踏实实地做好校园大使,帮助别人也充实了自己。

“我想我以前在孤儿院做志愿者的经历,和我在学生社团里的领导角色能够帮助提高我的沟通能力,团队合作能力,宣传和组织能力。”


Jane Jin Wang (多伦多大学主校区–圣佐治校区)

IMG_5028[1]

Jane是一名硕士研究生,在校主修营养学和心理学。她暑假在加华干细胞协会做志愿者后,通过一次偶然的机会,她加入了校园大使项目。

以下是她在加华干细胞协会工作的感想:

“这个夏天在加华干细胞协会做志愿者的经历让我十分难忘。这里是一个让我锻炼沟通能力和认识新朋友的好地方。最重要的是,我可以运用我学到的医学知识。我会继续在加华干细胞协会做志愿者,提高公众的认知度并帮助更多有需要的人。”


Erin Xie (滑铁卢大学)

Erin已在加华干细胞协会做过志愿者,也与其他志愿者保持了良好的关系。她最开始参加的活动是2009年的亚洲美食节。

“经过多次的培训后,我对加华干细胞协会的宗旨,历史,价值观,将来发展和干细胞捐献过程都了如指掌。我认为我能胜任校园大使的工作。我不仅希望提高人们对华人干细胞机构的认识和支持,还希望能够尽我们的能力去增加干细胞库里的人数。”


Lok-Hin Yuen (滑铁卢大学)

作为华人学生社团的执行负责人,Lok-Hin带着他的生物医药科学的知识和专业的社交能力来到加华干细胞协会。他不仅给予了我们的活动的一个良好的开始,也为我们的活动进行了广泛的宣传。

“如果我有能力去帮助别人,我没有理由不去做!”

就是这种精神, Lok-Hin!


Andrew Chan (约克大学)

Andrew是一名生物专业的大学四年级学生,他曾是加华干细胞协会的志愿者,他参加过的活动有动力夜市,亚洲美食节等。Andrew希望能够华裔社区对增加干细胞捐赠的认知度并鼓励更多学生和市民成为干细胞捐献者。

“健谈的我能够吸引同学们参与此活动,我也会教他们更多关于干细胞的知识,希望他们有一天能够成为干细胞捐献者,志愿者或者是校园大使。”

我们十分欣赏你的自信,Andrew!


April Kong (约克大学)

April是一位生物医药科学系的学生,也曾是一位加华干细胞协会的志愿者。她希望通过提供真相来改变人们对干细胞捐赠的误解,并启发华人社区更踊跃地帮助急需帮助的病人。

“我是一个很热情主动和负责任的人。更重要的是,我有一颗愿意帮助人的心。即使我不能成为干细胞的捐献者,我还是希望能够通过成为校园大使去提高人们的认知度。”


Grace Tran (约克大学)

Grace是一位生物专业的大学生。她是通过April Kong(校园大使同事及朋友)得知我们的需要和此项目。她的热情源于她的亲身经历:

“最近,我的一个亚洲朋友被确诊为患有白血病。所以我相信招募更多潜在的干细胞捐赠者是帮助病人的一个很好的开端。”

Grace希望通过活动去影响她的社区,去帮助她的朋友。


Here’s to a wonderful, exciting school year!


Facebooktwittergoogle_plusmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusmail

FacebooktwitteryoutubeFacebooktwitteryoutube

Brand Ambassadors (2013 – 2014)

Click to see a feature story about our Brand Ambassador team in Sing Tao Magazine!

Thank you to everyone who volunteered to be part of our Brand Ambassadors program for the school year of 2013 – 2014. We have chosen some wonderful candidates that each shows potential, passion, and drive. Let us introduce our first ever OtherHalf Brand Ambassador team!

IMG_5040[1]


Andy Wang (Co-Lead; University of Toronto – Mississauga: graduate)

Andy “The Thickest Skin” Wang started off volunteering for OtherHalf in 2012 and has since shown remarkable dedication and leadership. He was awarded the “Thickest Skin” award at our 2013 summer volunteer appreciation dinner for the persistent and positive attitude he demonstrated, especially when encountering (and of course overcoming!) recruiting obstacles.

And that’s what makes him a perfect Co-Lead for the first year of our new Brand Ambassador program!

“I am motivated, passionate about the cause, and I really like to help people!”


Akshita Malik (Co-Lead; University of Waterloo)

Akshita has climbed every step of the OtherHalf ladder; she has volunteered countless hours to OtherHalf’s cause and recently completed a summer internship with us.

But, it doesn’t end with just OtherHalf – Akshita has dedicated her time to countless programs such as 758 Argus Royal Canadian Air Cadet Squadron, DECA, and multiple academic programs. Her excellent leadership and communication skills in combination with the experience she brings made it impossible to turn her down for the role of co-lead for our new and exciting program.


Annie Lee (Queen’s University)

Annie, having already volunteered with multiple associations (even being an ambassador!), brings forth her experience and passion. When asked what motivated her to join, she responded with:

“My friend and I would like to establish a club in our university by fundraising for OtherHalf and educating people with the knowledge of the need for stem cell donors and the stem cell collection process”

She is currently in her second year of bio-medical computing.


Renee Xu (Queen’s University)

Renee is a previous OtherHalf volunteer from our Mississauga drive back in March 2012, so she is familiar with our recruiting process! Aside from that, Renee is also personally involved with the cause:

“As a registered donor myself, I am quite surprised by the compelling reactions of most Chinese people when it comes to stem cell/bone marrow donations, I want to help OtherHalf educate these potential donors in order for them to overcome the psychological barriers and misunderstandings, and to make a difference in other people’s lives.”


Helen Ren (Ryerson University)

Helen is a third year Criminal Justice student at Ryerson University, looking to be as involved with OtherHalf as possible. She has volunteered at two events over the past summer, and here’s what she has to say about her experience:

“Volunteering for OtherHalf gave me a sense of purpose, and I want to spread awareness in my school/community in order to help OtherHalf achieve its goals!”


Andrew Leung (University of Toronto – Scarborough: PhD student)

Andrew is in the second year of earning his PhD in environmental science. Andrew has been a long-time volunteer for OtherHalf since its very first event, showing dedication to the cause. If you’re looking for even more reasons as to why Andrew was meant for this program, this is what he has to say about why he’ll make a great Ambassador!

“I am passionate about the cause and I have experience in all areas related to a recruitment drive. I have a deep understanding of the university demographics and have the connections needed to further advocate the cause.”


Caleb Siu (University of Toronto – Mississauga)

Caleb is in his second year of Communication Culture and Information Technology, bringing his excellent work ethic, and extensive social networking skills to help our cause. On top of his substantial volunteer experience and multiple honours, Caleb brings a high level of experience to our program.

Hey Caleb, why did you want to join this program?

“To spread awareness about a worthy cause, especially in the Canadian Asian community”


Gloria Tiange Li (University of Toronto – St. George)

Gloria is in her second year of Public Accounting at UofT, which is where she heard about this program through the school’s Career Centre. Having never volunteered for OtherHalf, she decided to step forward and take this role without fear, but passion – to help others, and self-development.

“I think the previous experience as a volunteer at a local orphanage, and the leadership roles in student groups can help me further my communication, teamwork, promotion and organization skills”


Jane Jin Wang (University of Toronto – St. George)

IMG_5028[1]

Jane is post-graduate student, attending school to major in Nutritional Science and Psychology. After volunteering with OtherHalf during the summer, she stumbled upon the opportunity to be a Brand Ambassador when trying to reconnect with the coordinator!

Here’s what she had to say about her time with OtherHalf:

“I had wonderful experiences volunteering with OtherHalf this summer. It is a great place to improve my communication skills and meet new friends. The most important thing is I could put my health care related knowledge into practice. I would like to continue volunteering with OtherHalf to promote public health awareness and help out more people”


Erin Xie (University of Waterloo)

Erin has had a taste of OtherHalf as a volunteer and with her close relations to the other volunteers. She started back in 2009 at the Taste of Asia event.

“I have been trained the purpose, past, values, and future expectations of the organization as well as the stem cell donation process… With my skills, I believe I will co-operate well with the other bran ambassadors and not only raise awareness for the Chinese Stem Cell Initiative, but put in our best effort to increase the number in our donor base.”

Thanks for returning with your knowledge to further OtherHalf’s cause!


Lok-Hin Yuen (University of Waterloo)

Lok-Hin brings his biomedical sciences and networking expertise to our program as an executive of the Chinese Student Association at his school, bringing a good head-start to our outreaching, and he’s an experienced event promoter.

“If I have the ability to help others’ lives, there is no reason why I should not want to!”

That’s the spirit, Lok-Hin!


Andrew Chan (York University)

Andrew is in his fourth year of Biology at York University, and has volunteered with OtherHalf at events such as Night It Up, Taste of Asia and more. Andrew hopes to raise awareness of stem cell donation in the Chinese community and motivate more people on campus as well as off campus to participate or become a stem cell donor.

“My talkative skills will influence people on campus to participate and I will pass on my knowledge to them, so they will become donors, volunteers or ambassadors in the future.”

We appreciate the confidence, Andrew!


April Kong (York University)

April is a Biomedical Science student at York University, as well as a previous OtherHalf volunteer. She hopes to make people aware of the myths of stem cell donation and provide the truth, as well as inspiring the Chinese community to be more proactive about helping patients in need.

“I am enthusiastic, responsible, and self-motivated. Most importantly, I have the heart to help. Although I cannot be a donor myself, I can be an ambassador to raise awareness in my community.”


Grace Tran (York University)

Grace is a biology major from York University, who heard about our cause and program through her fellow Brand Ambassador and friend, April Kong. Her passion stems from a personal experience:

“Recently, a friend of mine from Asian descent was diagnosed with leukemia and so I believe recruiting more optimal donors is a great start in helping others”

Grace hopes that through drives and ongoing awareness events, she can make a better influence on the community, and help her friend.


brandam

Here’s to a wonderful, exciting school year!


Facebooktwittergoogle_plusmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusmail

FacebooktwitteryoutubeFacebooktwitteryoutube