关于登记注册

误解:任何年龄的人士都能注册登记成为干细胞捐献者。

事实:不幸的是,我们只招揽年龄介于17岁至35岁的加籍人士。最小的捐献年龄为17岁,这缘于目前的医学资料显示17岁为最早及安全的捐献年龄。此外,最大的捐献年龄被定为35岁,这缘于研究显示,年轻捐献者的干细胞更能给予患者最长及最佳的生存机会。不过,如果你的条件不符,请阅读 “误解: 如果我不能够登记注册成为干细胞捐献者,我将帮助不了患者。” 以了解更多有关信息。

误解:只有华裔人士才能登记注册。

事实:虽然我们的重点为加拿大华人社区,我们同样非常愿意注册符合标准的任何人士成为一个潜在的干细胞捐赠者。这是因为任何患者都有可能在寻找匹配干细胞捐献者上遇到困难,而这取决于患者自身基因型的复杂性。这就说明招揽拥有不同种族背景的加籍人士加入OneMatch是重要的。

误解:只需要男士干细胞捐献者。

F事实:如果您是男士并且年龄介于17岁至35岁,您就被认为是最佳的干细胞捐献者。因为您捐献出的干细胞能给予患者最佳的生存机会。然而对于患者而言,如果有更多的捐献者,就有更大的生存希望。因此,我们亦欢迎年龄介于17岁至35岁的女士加入登记。

误解:一旦我登记注册,我将不能反悔。

事实:作为已在OneMatch干细胞库中登记成为干细胞捐献者的人士,您将随时有权利选择退出登记库。然而我们恳请您知道,如果您在干细胞捐献过程中选择退出,这很可能就意味着一名患者因此失去重获生命的机会。在患者进行干细胞手术移植之前,他们通常被给予大量的放射性治疗及化学治疗,以此来摧毁骨髓里的癌细胞。如果捐献者此时不能够及时向患者捐献出必要的干细胞,患者将没有足够的白细胞去抵抗体内的病菌。介于这个原因,我们鼓励您在加入登记之前,请深思熟虑。

误解:如果我不能够登记注册成为干细胞捐献者,我将帮助不了患者。

事实:即便您不能在OneMatch上注册成为干细胞捐献者,还有很多事情您可以帮助到患者。

    1. 传播干细胞登记注册的消息。 请把我们需要17岁至35岁的青年男子加入干细胞登记库的消息告诉您的家人及朋友。同时,您也可以登录访问我们的 Twitter!

页面。

  1. 关注我们的 Facebook page.官方页面。 每收到一个“关注”,我们就能从赞助商那里得到1块钱的赞助费。
  2. 加拿大血液服务中心 献血。进行干细胞移植手术的病人每个星期需要8袋血液(这很多!)。献血者的要求与干细胞捐献者的要求并不同。如果您符合要求,我们鼓励您去献血以此帮助更多的患者。
  3. 成为加华干细胞协会的志愿者 。由于我们多数的活动在夏天举行,所以我们非常期待您成为我们的志愿者。
  4. 您可以通过 Canadian Blood Services捐赠宝宝的脐带血而帮助救人一命。脐血干细胞移植用于治疗超过50种与血液相关的疾病和障碍,只要通过四个简单的步骤便可捐赠。想了解更多信息,请参考 Canadian Blood Services的加拿大官方网站。.
  5. 向我们 提供财政帮助

请登录Get Involved.页面,访问更多关于此方面的消息。


Facebooktwittergoogle_plusmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusmail

FacebooktwitteryoutubeFacebooktwitteryoutube

Becoming a Stem Cell Donor

Myth: Everyone can join the stem cell registry at any age.

Fact: Unfortunately, we are only accepting potential registrants between the ages of 17-35. The minimum age for donation is 17 as current medical information tells us that 17 is the earliest age to safely donate. (We have this regulation in place because the safety of the donor is extremely important to us.) The maximum age for potential registrants is set at 35 because research indicates that younger donors are associated with better long-term survival rates for patients. However, if you are not eligible to become a member of the registry, please read the following myth below: “If I can’t register as a potential donor, I can’t help the cause” to learn more about how you can still help our cause.

Myth: OtherHalf only registers Chinese people.

Fact: Although our focus is on the Chinese community, we are more than happy to register anyone who fits the criteria for becoming a potential stem cell donor. This is because any individual can have difficulty finding a matching donor, depending on the complexity of the genetic typing they have inherited. That’s why it’s important for as many Canadians – no matter what their ethnic background – to join OneMatch.

Myth: Only men are wanted as stem cell donor registrants.

Fact: If you are a male between the ages of 17-35, you’re considered an optimal stem cell donor because stem cells from young male donors offer better long-term survival rates for patients. However, all donors represent more hope for patients around the world and so females between the ages of 17-35 are also welcomed to join the registry.

Myth: Once I register, there’s no turning back.

Fact: As a registrant of the OneMatch stem cell registry, you will always have the right to say no. However, please recognize that if you withdraw from the stem cell donation process, you may put the patient’s life in jeopardy. To prepare for a transplant, the recipient is usually given high doses of radiation and/or chemotherapy to destroy the diseased bone marrow. If the donor does not follow through with providing the patient with the necessary stem cells, the patient will not have enough white blood cells to protect his/her system against surrounding bacteria. For this reason, we encourage you to be informed and committed before becoming a registrant in the stem cell donor registry.

Myth: If I can’t register as a potential donor, I can’t help the cause.

Fact: Even if you aren’t registered with OneMatch, there are still many things you can do to help patients in need!

  1. Spread the word. Tell your friends and family that men between the ages of 17-35 are needed in the stem cell donor registry. You can also follow us on Twitter!
  2. Like our Facebook page. For every “like” we get, we receive $1 from our sponsor.
  3. Donate blood with Canadian Blood Services. Patients undergoing stem cell transplants require 8 units of blood per week. (That’s a lot!) The restrictions for registration as a blood donor are different from stem cell donation so we encourage you to see if you are eligible.
  4. Donate your baby’s cord blood with Canadian Blood Services. Cord blood stem cell transplants are used for treating over 50 blood related diseases and disorders and you can donate publicly in four easy steps. To find out more, please refer to the official Canadian Blood Services website.
  5. Volunteer with OtherHalf. We get busy during the summer so all help is welcomed!
  6. Give a financial gift to OtherHalf.

For more details on how to contribute to the cause, please visit Get Involved.


Facebooktwittergoogle_plusmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusmail

FacebooktwitteryoutubeFacebooktwitteryoutube