梁嘉欣

Janet Liang

梁嘉欣,一位美国长大的华裔在22岁时被诊断出患有急性淋巴细胞白血病,当时已是她大学的第四个年头。在2009年,随着她的朋友们的帮助下,梁嘉欣创立“帮助梁嘉欣”,一个基层举措,针对少数族裔社区并促使他们踊跃登记干细胞记录。很快,“帮助梁嘉欣” 成为一个全球性的运动,消息达到美国,中国大陆,台湾,香港和新加坡。

此后,该组织已注册超过20,000个新的潜在捐助者并帮助18位血癌病人找到匹配的干细胞。

2012年1月21日,在住院时,梁嘉欣在Youtube上传了请求视频 ,问美国人,尤其那些具有中国血统的华裔,希望他们能够注册加入骨髓库。在视频里,梁嘉欣说:

” “我很怕死,这感觉就像我没有多少时间了。我意识到,我怕死,因为我怕我将要留下的一切。 “

这个视频很快被转贴到其他网站,如今已经获得了380,000点击率。也获得了亚洲美国互联网名人和音乐家,包括远东运动,黄富制作,等关注和宣传。

2010年6月,梁嘉欣接受了化疗。一个半年后,她在2011年12月复发。

2012年6月,梁发现了9/10的骨髓匹配,对方是一名29岁的男性。 2012年9月5日,她接受了骨髓移植。可悲的是,由于化疗并发症,梁嘉欣只坚持到手术后的第六天。。。

我们对梁嘉欣的家人和朋友表示慰问,并衷心希望她的精神和毅力可以传接下去。

梁嘉欣的视频


Facebooktwittergoogle_plusmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusmail

FacebooktwitteryoutubeFacebooktwitteryoutube

Back to 缅怀逝者

Janet Liang

Janet Liang

Janet Liang, a Chinese American born and raised in California was diagnosed with acute lymphoblastic leukemia at the age of 22 during her fourth year at UCLA. With the help of her friends, Janet founded Helping Janet, a grassroots initiative aimed at mobilizing ethnic minority communities to register their marrow in 2009. Helping Janet shortly became a global movement, reaching out to Asians across the United States and the Chinese-speaking regions of China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Singapore, by utilizing social media.

The organization has since registered over 20,000 new donors and found 18matches for blood cancer patients.

On January 21, 2012, while at the hospital, Janet uploaded a video plea on Youtube asking Americans, particularly those of Chinese descent, to register for the marrow registry. In the plea, Janet said.

” I’m so afraid of dying. It feels like I don’t have much time left. And I realize that I’m afraid I’m dying because mostly I’m afraid of what I’m leaving behind. “

The plea became a viral video after a posting on Reddit and has garnered some some 380,000 views. This video also garnered the attention and advocacy of Asian American internet celebrities and musicians including Far East Movement, Wong Fu Productions, Kevjumba and the cast of White Frog, including Harry Shum Jr., Booboo Stewart, BD Wong, Joan Chen and Amy Hill.

In June 2010, Janet went into remission after a battery of chemotherapy treatments. One and a half years later, she relapsed in December 2011.

In June 2012, Liang found a 9/10 marrow match from a 29-year-old male. She received a marrow transplant on 5 September 2012. Sadly, owing to complications from chemotherapy, Janet passed away six days after receiving a marrow transplant, on September 12, 2012 before the new stem cells could engraft.

We sent our condolences to Janet’s family and sincerely hope that her legacy will live on.

Janet’s plea on Youtube


Facebooktwittergoogle_plusmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusmail

FacebooktwitteryoutubeFacebooktwitteryoutube

Back to In Memory